LDF wins two-third seats in local government bye-polls in Kerala

The ruling Left Democratic Front, an alliance led by the Communist Party of India (Marxist), won 21 of the 39 seats in local bodies for which bye-elections were held in Kerala on Friday. The Congress-led United Democratic Front bagged 12 seats, while the Bharatiya Janata Party secured two. The Socialist Democratic Party of India also won two seats, as did independent candidates.

The bye-elections were held for seats in 27 gram panchayats, five block panchayats, six municipalities and one corporation wards across 14 districts.

Playing communal card in Sabarimala issue and BJP’s plan to stir communal violence seemed to have backfired.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *