J&K Reorganisation Bill passed in Rajya Sabha 125-61

The Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Bill, 2019 was passed by the Parliament Monday with the support of 121 MPs, paving way for the bifurcation of the state of Jammu and Kashmir into the Union Territories of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh.

The Rajya Sabha has also passed a statutory resolution on scrapping special status to Jammu and Kashmir.

Union Home Minister Amit Shah Monday announced that the government has scrapped the special status granted to the state of Jammu and Kashmir by modifying Article 370 of the Constitution. Article 370 of the constitution is a ‘temporary provision’ granting special autonomous status to Jammu and Kashmir.

The Presidential order signed by the President of India has not scrapped Article 370. But invoking this very article special status of Jammu & Kashmir has been withdrawn.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.