CPIM wins Dahanu in Maharashtra

In Maharashtra’s Dahanu constituency, Vinod Bhiva Nikole of Communist Party of India Marxist (CPIM) defeated BJP’s Dhanare Paskal Janya by 4321 votes.

Once a Left bastion, the Dahanu seat was won by the NCP in 2004 and 2009 assembly election and the BJP in the 2014 polls.

In Kalwan veteran CPIM leader and the face of the historic Kisan Long March Gavit Jiva Pandu lost the seat to NCP candidate Nitin Arjun A. T. Pawar.

In the 2014 elections, Gavit Jiva Pandu won in this seat by defeating the NCP candidate by a margin of 4786 votes which was 2.74% of the total votes polled in the constituency. CPM had a vote share of 38.76% in 2014 in the seat. CPI(M) leader Jiva Pandu Gavit is a seven term MLA from Surgana and Kalwan constituencies. He was elected pro-term speaker of the Maharashtra state assembly in 2014. A staunch communist Gavit was first elected from Surgana in 1978.

In the 2019 Maharashtra assembly election, the CPM contested in at least four seats.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.