If people of Bihar give me an opportunity, I will fulfil their aspiration: Tejashwi Yadav

The Rashtriya Janata Dal-led opposition Grand-Alliance will contest 144 of the 243 assembly seats that will go to the three-phase Bihar polls, beginning October 28. Congress will fight in 70 seats and 29 seats have been given to the three Left allies — CPIM four, CPI six, and CPIML 19.

At the press meet, Grand Alliance partners unanimously declared RJD leader Tejashwi Yadav as the face of the multi-party coalition and unanimously chosen as the Chief Ministerial candidate.

RJD said it will accommodate old alliance partner Vikashheel Insaan Party (VIP) and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) its ally in adjoining Jharkhand from its quota of 144 seats. But, Bollywood set-designer-turned-politician Mukesh Sahni’s VIP walked out of the Grand Alliance and said the deal wasn’t acceptable.

“We are giving a strong and secular option to the people of Bihar. At the moment, Bihar is in the ICU. No industry has come up in the state and there is poverty and unemployment in the state. Nitish Kumar has failed to provide employment to the youth of Bihar. If people of Bihar give me an opportunity, I will fulfil their aspirations,” Yadav who is the current leader of opposition in the Bihar Legislative Assembly and the youngest opposition leader in the country told reporters.

Yadav reiterated his promise of creating 10 lakh government jobs in the first cabinet meeting if the Grand Alliance forms the next government.

“All components of United Progressive Alliance (UPA) have decided to come together as coalition for the Bihar Assembly elections. Congress, RJD, CPI, CPM and Vikassheel Insaan party will be part of this alliance under leadership of RJD. We want Bihar to prosper under Tejashwi Yadav,” at press meet, Congress General Secretary Avinash Pandey said.

Rameshwar Prasad, CPI(ML) leader said a new Bihar is to be built and hundreds of Biharis returning home died on foot during the unplanned lockdowns.

Awadhesh Kumar Rai, CPIM state secretary said his party’s aim is to stop the split of votes against the BJP.

CPI’s Ram Naresh Pandey, RJD national vice-president Shivanand Tiwari, RJD national spokesperson Manoj Jha, RJD MLA Tej Pratap Yadav, Congress legislature party leader Sadanand Singh and state spokesperson Rajesh Rathorre were also present at the press conference.