Bihar: Counting of votes begins

The counting of votes for 243 assembly constituencies in Bihar is under way.

 The counting of votes began at 8 am at 55 centres across 38 districts.

The closely fought elections saw incumbent Nitish Kumar, who is heading the JD(U)-BJP combine, take on the Tejashwi Yadav-led Grand Alliance comprising RJD, Congress, and Left Parties.

The Grand Alliance has a good lead as it is showing leads in 84 seats. While NDA is showing leads in 64 seats. Only postal ballots are being counted right now.

Most exit polls have given the Grand Alliance a clear edge over the NDA.

The third front comprising six parties — the RLSP, AIMIM, BSP, Suhaldev Bharatiya Samaj Party (SBSP), Samajwadi Janata Dal Democratic, and Janatantrik Party (Socialist) — may prove kingmaker if the contest is very tight.

Over 57 per cent of the nearly 7.30 crore electors had exercised their franchise during the three-phase elections, despite the pandemic.