Puducherry: Narayanaswamy resigns as CM after Congress govt loses majority

In a huge setback for the Congress party ahead of the polls in Puducherry, the V Narayanasamy government lost its majority in the Union Territory.

After walking out of the Assembly, Narayanasamy tendered his resignation to Governor Tamilisai Soundararajan.

“Former LG Kiran Bedi and Central Government colluded with the Opposition and tried to topple the government. It is clear that the people of Puducherry trust us. This is a government elected by the people,” In the Assembly today, Narayanasamy accused the opposition of trying to topple the government.

Though Narayanasamy moved the motion seeking the confidence vote minutes after the Assembly met for a special one-day session, he and his ruling side MLAs later walked out before the motion was put for voting.

After a series of resignation, the Congress-DMK have 12 MLAs including an Independent who is supporting the government in the House whose effective strength is now 26, while the opposition alliance has 14 MLAs.