Delhi MCD bypolls: AAP wins 4/5 seats

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) Wednesday swept the bypolls for the five municipal wards in the national capital held on February 28 by winning four of five wards. The Congress, meanwhile, won.

Voting was held in two wards — Rohini-C and Shalimar Bagh (North) — in the North Delhi Municipal Corporation (NDMC), and three wards — Trilokpuri, Kalyanpuri and Chauhan Banger — in the East Delhi Municipal Corporation (EDMC) last Sunday.

AAP won Kalyanpuri, Rohini-C, Shalimar Bagh (North), and Trilokpuri while Congress was ahead in Chauhan Banger.

Of the five wards, four were held by AAP councillors who went on to become MLAs on party tickets. Shalimar Bagh North had a BJP councillor.

The national capital will see elections to all 272 MCD wards in 2022.