Tamil Nadu: SDPI to contest 6 seats, forms alliance with Dhinakaran’s AMMK

Ahead of state polls in Tamil Nadu, the Social Democratic Party of India (SDPI) has sealed an alliance with TTV Dhinakaran’s Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam (AMMK).

SDPI will contest in 6 constituencies in the AMMK alliance – Alandhur, Ambur, Trichy west, Thiruvarur, Madurai Central and Palayankotai.

Asaduddin Owaisi’s All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) is also a component in the alliance.

“We’d talked with Makkal Needhi Maiam but we decided to forge an alliance with AMMK, Nellai Mubarak, SDPI Tamil Nadu President told reporters.

“Kamal Hassan broke the alliance with us for some seat sharing problems or may be some conspicuous BJP pressure But within hours SDPI was offered an alliance with AMMK of Dinakaran with 6 seats in Tamil Nadu,” party’s national secretary Tasleem Rehmani said.

On Wednesday, AMMK released its first list of 15 candidates for the April 6 Tamil Nadu assembly elections.

Former state Ministers, P Palaniappan, G Senthamizhan, and C Shanmugavelu would contest from Pappireddipatti, Saidapet and Madathukulam respectively while S Anbazhagan, and K Sugumar, both former MPs, have been fielded from Rasipuram and Pollachi segments respectively.

Owaisi’s AIMIM will be contesting from Vaniyambadi, Krishnagiri and Sankarapuram.

Tamil Nadu with 234 assembly constituencies will have single-phase elections on April 6. The main fight is between the MK Stalin-led Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) and All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK). The BJP in alliance with the AIADMK and the Congress has joined hands with the DMK.