Uttarakhand: BJP wins but CM Dhami loses

The incumbent BJP headed to a remarkable victory in Uttarakhand, bucking the trend of alternate governments in the hill state.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is set to retain power in Uttarakhand, with its candidates leading/winning in 48 out of 70 assembly seats.

The Congress is ahead in 18 seats.

Meanwhile, Uttarakhand Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami, who contested from Khatima Assembly constituency, has lost the election to Indian National Congress’ Bhuwan Chandra Kapri by a margin of 6,579 votes, as per official EC trends.

Congress strongman Harish Rawat also lost the election.

“BJP is forming govt with 2/3 majority. New records are being made since PM Modi became PM. I am thankful to party and central leadership for giving an opportunity to a person like me of a humble background,” Dhami said.