West Bengal violence: Five BJP MLAs suspended in Bengal Assembly

Leader of the Opposition Suvendu Adhikari and the BJP’s Chief Whip Manoj Tigga and three legislators of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in West Bengal were suspended by the Speaker Monday until the next session of the Assembly after members of the ruling Trinamool Congress and BJP scuffled inside the House over the violence in Birbhum’s Bogtui village.

The other three MLAs are Shankar Ghosh, Narahari Mahato, and Dipak Burman.

“This is an unwanted, unprecedented incident,” Speaker Biman Banerjee said.

Adhikari alleged, “We were illegally suspended.”

Several members of the House were injured in the incident.

At least eight people, including women and children, were charred to death after Bhadu Sheikh, a deputy pradhan owing allegiance to the TMC, was murdered on Monday.

The Calcutta High Court has ordered a CBI probe into the killings in Bogtui.

The TMC alleged that opposition MLAs attacked women security personnel of the Assembly and damaged official documents.

BJP also alleged that its MLAs were beaten up inside the House and as a result, several leaders were injured.