Thursday, June 13, 2024

Bhim Army founder Chandrashekhar Azad leading by 85,000 votes in UP’s Nagina constituency

Azad Samaj Party (ASP)-Kanshi Ram leader and Bhim Army founder Chandrashekhar Azad ‘Ravan’ is leading by more than 85,000 votes in Uttar Pradesh’s Nagina constituency.

In a major blow, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Om Kumar is trailing behind Samajwadi Party (SP)’s Manoj Kumar and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP)’s Surendra Pal Singh.

It is the first Lok Sabha election of the Azad’s ASP, which is only a four-year-old party, with teapot as its election symbol.

With Ravan’s radical call for social transformation and advocacy for the “rule of the poor,” ASP’s manifesto presented an alternative to the BSP. 

It raised the slogan “Saari Party Dekh Li, Ab Ki Baar Ketli (We have tested all parties, now it is teapot’s turn)” during the run-up to the polls.

Though Azad, also an Ambedkarite and an anti-caste activist, had refused to ally with the INDIA alliance, he is expected to support the alliance against NDA if needed.

The BSP’s Girish Chandra had won Nagina, a reserved constituency which includes over 3.5 lakh Dalit voters, in the 2019 polls.


Don't Miss

Related Articles