Friday, June 14, 2024

Chandrababu Naidu’s TDP set to form govt in Andhra Pradesh

The Telugu Desam Party-led alliance looked to be heading towards a big victory in the Assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh, leading in 150 out of 175 seats. The party is also leading in 21 out of the 25 Lok Sabha seats in the state.

Andhra Pradesh’s ruling YSRCP, which had won the 2019 Assembly polls by a landslide with 151 seats, is currently leading in only 20 seats.

TDP ally Jana Sena Party is now leading in 19 of the 21 seats it contested while, BJP, which is also part of the alliance, is leading in six of the 10 seats it contested.

The Election Commission of India (ECI) reported a record turnout of 81.86 percent — a two percent increase from the 2019 polls. Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy and his colleague Botcha Satyanaryana were the only YSRCP leaders leading in their respective constituencies of Pulivendula and Cheepuripalle. 


Don't Miss

Related Articles