Friday, June 14, 2024

Delhi repeats allegiance to BJP despite Kejriwal’s fierce campaign

With nearly 54% vote share and a lead in all seven seats, the national capital has chosen Modi’s Bharatiya Janata Party over the opposition INDIA alliance. Despite strong sentiments over the arrest of the Delhi Chief Minister and AAP supremo Arvind Kejriwal, who returned to jail after an interim bail granted for campaigning, the urban voters chose the saffron party.

Kejriwal was granted an interim bail for 21 days by the Supreme Court to campaign for the 2024 Lok Sabha election. His party has repeatedly claimed to upset the BJP in the state for the arrest of Kejriwal.

While trends show rural India has voted against Modi in large numbers, the national capital, which saw the deadly anti-Muslim violence in 2020, has chosen to be a bastion for BJP. The AAP and the Congress contested the election on a 3-4 seat-sharing arrangement and the alliance has expressed confidence based on their combined share of votes.

BJP replaced six of its incumbent MPs, including Ramesh Bidhuri (South Delhi), Meenakshi Lekhi (New Delhi), Parvesh Sahib Singh (West Delhi) and Harsh Vardhan (Chandni Chowk) to vow voters to their party this election.

The setback for AAP will be discussed in the coming days. The party is leading in three Lok Sabha seats in Punjab, where it is in power.


Don't Miss

Related Articles