24 suspended MPs continue 50-hour relay protest

Twenty suspended Rajya Sabha members and four suspended Lok Sabha MPs Wednesday started a 50-hour relay protest inside the Parliament complex.

The overnight protest continued on the morning of Thursday.

Sources said the Opposition declined the Chairman’s offer that they express regret over their members’ behaviour in the House to get the suspension revoked, PTI reported.

The 20 MPs, suspended over the last two days, include seven from the Trinamool Congress (TMC), six from the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK), three from the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), two from the Communist Party of India (Marxist) and one each from the Communist Party of India (CPI) and the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

Four Lok Sabha MPs of the Congress were suspended the previous day. The parliamentarians were suspended for disrupting proceedings in Lok Sabha and their “unruly behaviour.”

Parliamentary Affairs Minister Prahlad Joshi said on Wednesday that the suspension of the MPs could be revoked if they apologised to the Chair.

“Congress, DMK, TMC, CPM & AAP MPs from both Houses on 50 hour continous dharna by turns in Parliament precincts. They are protesting their suspension for demanding URGENT debate on price rise and GST on food items,” Congress general secretary Jairam Ramesh said wrote on Twitter.

“When I raised the issue of 55 deaths due to poisonous liquor in Gujarat in Rajya Sabha, I was suspended. As long as I am suspended, I will continue to protest in front of Gandhi statue in Parliament complex. I appeal to all of you to raise your voice on this issue,” said Suspended Rajya Sabha MP and AAP leader Sanjay Singh.

“We’ll not apologize as we haven’t done anything wrong. We’ve raised the issue of common people,” TMC MP Shanta Chhetri was quoted as saying by news agency ANI.