Saturday, April 20, 2024

AIMIM names two candidates for Gujarat Assembly polls

The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen on Sunday announced the names of two candidates for the upcoming Gujarat Assembly polls, taking the total number of seats covered by the party to five.

The announcement of the candidature of Shahnawazkhan Pathan from Bapunagar in Ahmedabad and Abdul Bashir Shaikh from Limbayat in Surat was made on the official Twitter handle of party supremo Asaduddin Owaisi MP.

“Inshallah, AIMIM will provide a strong independent political voice to the people of Gujarat,” tweeted Owaisi.

AIMIM has fielded its state chief Sabir Kabliwala, a former Congress MLA, from Jamalpur-Khadia in Ahmedabad, its Dalit face Kaushika Parmar from Danilimda (SC) seat, and Wasim Qureshi from Surat-East, PTI reported.

Legislative Assembly elections are speculated to be held in Gujarat in December 2022 to elect 182 members of the Gujarat Legislative Assembly. The term of the Gujarat Assembly ends on February 18, 2023.


Don't Miss

Related Articles