Sunday, May 19, 2024

Assam: AIUDF releases first list of 16 candidates, ‘friendly’ contest with Congress in 5 seats

Badruddin Ajmal’s All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) on Sunday released its first list of 16 candidates for the upcoming Assam polls.

The AIUDF is in alliance with Congress in the grand alliance for this election and the party holds 14 seats in the outgoing state assembly.

Aminul Islam is one of the seven renominated candidates who will contest the Dhing seat, which is the only constituency in the list that goes to polls in the first phase on March 27.

Badruddin Ajmal’s brother Sirajuddin Ajmal has been nominated for the Jamunamukh constituency, replacing Ajmal’s son and sitting MLA Abdur Rahim Ajmal.

The other contestants are AIUDF general secretary advocate Aminul Islam (Mankachar), Suzamuddin Laskar (Katlicherra), Nizamuddin Choudhury (Algapur), Nazrul Haque (Dhubri), Nijanur Rahman (Gauripur), Hafiz Bashir Ahmed (Bilasipara West), Dr. Hafiz Rafiqul Islam (Jania). Phani Talukdar (Bhabanipur), and Karimuddin Barbhuiya (Sonai).

The official statement of the party noted that in five seats it will be in a “friendly” contest and nominated Minakshi Rahman from Sarukhetri, Rafiqul Islam from Jaleswar, Mujibur Rahman from Dalgaon, Ashraful Hussain from Chenga and Rajib Ahmed from Bagbar.

The friendly contest will be between Congress and the AIUDF, say sources.


Don't Miss

Related Articles