Sunday, May 19, 2024

Bihar elections: 55.69% voter turnout recorded in first phase, says EC

The first phase of the Assembly elections in Bihar recorded 55.69 per cent voter turnout, according to the Election Commission.

A total of 71 assembly constituencies of Bihar in 6 districts, went to polls on 28 October in the first of the three-phase elections amid COVID-19 guidelines in place.

The 6 districts included naxal-hit Gaya, Rohtas and Aurangabad.

As compared to corresponding assembly constituencies which went to poll in the 2015 assembly elections and the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, the turnout this time was higher, EC said on Thursday.

According to the EC data, in the 2015 assembly elections, the turnout was 54.94 per cent in the corresponding constituencies. In the 2019 Lok Sabha polls — with the same assembly seats mapped to parliamentary seats — the turnout was 53.54 per cent.

Altogether 1066 candidates were in the fray for the first phase of elections.


Don't Miss

Related Articles