Tuesday, May 28, 2024

BJP-IPFT alliance returns to power in Tripura

The BJP-IPFT alliance returns to power in Tripura winning 33 seats in the 60-member assembly on Thursday.

Though the coalition of the BJP and the Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) returned to power for a second time, both parties secured fewer seats when compared to their performance in 2018, mainly as Tipra Motha did well in the tribal hinterland, according to PTI news agency.

The Left-Congress alliance secured 14 while the Tipra Motha, formed by former scion of the state’s princely family Pradyot Kishore Debbarma, bagged 13 seats.

The Trinamool Congress performed poorly winning none of the 28 seats it contested.

The Communist Party of India (Marxist) lost power in 2018 after ruling Tripura for 25 years by winning only 16 seats last time round. This time they contested in 47 seats and won 11, with a vote share of 24.62%.

The Congress won three, bagging a vote share of 8.56%.


Don't Miss

Related Articles