Thursday, April 18, 2024

Congress presidential poll: It’s finally Mallikarjun Kharge vs Shashi Tharoor

Senior Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge has entered the race for Congress president as the choice of the Gandhis.

Kharge, who filed his nomination today, is likely to resign as Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha.

Another senior leader Digvijaya Singh has opted out, leaving Shashi Tharoor as the other major candidate. Digvijaya Singh, who collected his nomination papers yesterday, dropped out of the contest after meeting with Kharge this morning.

According to NDTV, Kharge’s proposers for the contest include tall Congress leaders, including former chief ministers Bhupinder Singh Hooda, Digvijaya Singh, and Prithviraj Chavan, former defence minister AK Antony, spokesperson AM Singhvi, and former Union minister Ajay Maken, among others.

Former Jharkhand minister K N Tripathi, who is the third candidate in the contest, has also filed his papers.

This is the first Congress president election in more 20 years with non-Gandhis in the contest.


Don't Miss

Related Articles