Sunday, May 19, 2024

Congress state chiefs sacked after dismal performance in Assembly polls

Congress President Sonia Gandhi fired the Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC) presidents of five states on Tuesday after the party suffered crushing defeat in the recent Assembly Polls. Congress Presidents of Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Goa and Manipur were asked to resign.

Congress party spokesperson and leader Randeep Surjewala took to twitter to inform that that the decision was taken in order to “facilitate reorganisation” of the party’s state units.

Navjot Singh Sidhu, Congress chief of Punjab who took over the position eight moinths ago is also among the sacked PCC Presidents. Other Congress Presidents in the hit-list are Ganesh Godiyal (Uttarakhand), Girish Chodankar(Goa), Loken Singh(Manipur), and Ajay Kumar Lallu(Uttar Pradesh).

Moments after Surjewala’s tweet, Goa Congress chief Ganesh Godiyal announceed his resignation saying, “Taking moral responsibility for the party’s defeat in the state assembly elections, I have submitted my resignation today.”

The move is considered to be one of the first steps taken by the Congress High Command to take action on the Congress’s poor performance in the polls in all five states.

The Congress Working Committee (CWC) had convened for a meeting two days back where they rejected the resignation of the Gandhi’s – Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, Priyanka Gandhi Vadra . The leaders urged Sonia Gandhi to continue to lead the party and reorganize the party in a grass root level.

“The CWC unanimously reaffirms its faith in the leadership of Sonia Gandhi and requests the Congress president to lead from the front, address the organisational weaknesses, effect necessary and comprehensive organisational changes in order to take on the political challenges,” it had said after the meeting.

Earlier in the day, senior Congress leaders and office bearers of UP convened a review meeting led by General Secretary in-charge of State Priyanka Gandhi Vadra over the party’s poor performance in the assembly polls.


Don't Miss

Related Articles