Tuesday, March 5, 2024

Delhi Court discharges all student leaders in 2019 Jamia CAA protest case

A Delhi court Saturday discharged all the eleven student leaders in Jamia CAA protest case in which they were accused of instigating the riots.

The student leaders include Safoora Zargar, Sharjeel Imam, Aasif Iqbal Tanha, Chanda Yadav, Mohd Abuzar, Umair Ahmad, Mohd Shoaib, Mahmood Anwar, Mohd Qasim, Bilal Nadeem and Shahzar Raza Khan.

However, Sharjeel Imam will stay in jail as he has yet to secure bail in the Delhi pogrom conspiracy case. Asif and Zargar were granted bail in the UAPA case in June 2021.

The eleven students were among the student leaders who led the historic protest against CAA, NRC and NPR in 2019 winter. Dozens of student leaders and Muslim activists were arrested under draconian charges following the protests. Many of them are still in jail.

The Jamia case FIR involved offences of rioting and unlawful assembly under sec. 143, 147, 148, 149, 186, 353, 332, 333, 308, 427, 435, 323, 341, 120B and 34 of IPC.

Additional Sessions Judge Arul Verma passed the order.


Don't Miss

Related Articles