Saturday, February 24, 2024

Exit polls: Congress ahead in Telangana and Chhattisgarh, BJP win in Rajasthan, edge in Madhya Pradesh, hung House in Mizoram

On Wednesday, exit polls suggested Congress leading in Chhattisgarh and Telangana, while the Bharatiya Janata Party is ahead in Rajasthan. Certain surveys indicate BJP’s potential victory in Madhya Pradesh.

The predictions were made as the voting for the Assembly election in Telangana concluded on Thursday.

The Mizoram Assembly polls occurred on November 7, those in Madhya Pradesh on November 17, and in Rajasthan on November 25. Chhattisgarh conducted its elections in two phases on November 7 and 17. The votes across all five states will be tallied on Sunday.


In the state, the Bhupesh Baghel-led Congress is fighting the BJP to retain power.

Six exit polls, including those by Axis My India and Today’s Chanakya, predicted that the Congress will retain power in the 90-member Assembly.

News24-Today’s Chanakya forecasted Congress winning 57 seats, well surpassing the majority mark, while predicting BJP to secure 33 seats.

In India Today’s Axis My India exit poll, the Congress is anticipated to secure 44 to 52 seats, while the BJP is expected to win between 34 and 42 constituencies.

Source Congress BJP Others 
India Today-Axis My India 40-50 36-46 1-5 
News24-Today’s Chanakya 57 33 
Republic-Matrize 44-52 34-42 0-2 
ABP News-CVoter 41-53 36-48 0-4 
Jan Ki Baat 42-53 34-45 
TV5 News 54-64 29-39 0-2


Three exit polls—Jan Ki Baat, Dainik Bhaskar, and TV9 Bharatvarsh-Polistrat—suggest a strong likelihood of the BJP securing a majority in the Assembly seats. Jan Ki Baat anticipates the BJP winning 100 to 122 seats, while the Congress may secure 62 to 85 seats.

Dainik Bhaskar’s poll predicts the Hindutva party winning 98 to 105 seats, surpassing the Congress with 85 to 95 seats. TV9 Bharatvarsh-Polistrat forecasts the BJP winning 100 to 110 seats and the Congress 90 to 100 seats.

Contrarily, the India Today-Axis My India exit poll indicates the Congress leading with 96 seats, while the BJP is projected to win 90 seats.

Source Congress BJP Others 
India Today-Axis My India 96 90 13 
Jan Ki Baat 62-85 100-122 14-15 
Dainik Bhaskar 85-95 98-105 10-15 
TV9 Bharatvarsh-Polistrat 90-100 100-110 5-15


Three exit polls—CNX, Jan Ki Baat, and Matrize—indicate that the Congress is poised to take control of Telangana, surpassing the incumbent Bharat Rashtra Samithi led by K Chandrashekar Rao.

India TV’s CNX poll forecasts the Congress winning between 63 and 79 seats, with the Bharat Rashtra Samithi expected to secure 31 to 47 seats, and the BJP projected to win 7 to 13 constituencies. Republic’s Matrize polls predict the Congress winning around 58 to 68 seats, the Bharat Rashtra Samithi between 46 and 56, and the BJP between four and nine.

The News24-Today’s Chanakya exit poll predicts the Congress winning 71 seats, surpassing the Bharat Rashtra Samithi’s 33 seats.

Source Bharat Rashtra Samithi  Congress BJP Others 
Jan Ki Baat 40-55 48-64 7-13 4-7 
Republic-Matrize 46-56 58-68 4-9 
India TV-CNX 31-47 63-79 7-13 4-7 
Today’s Chanakya 33 71 8

Madhya Pradesh

Exit polls for Madhya Pradesh depict varying outcomes. India Today-Axis My India and News24-Today’s Chanakya position the BJP well ahead with 140 to 162 and 151 seats, respectively. The Republic-Matrize survey forecasts the BJP winning 118 to 130 seats.

Contrastingly, the TV9 Bharatvarsh-Polistrat poll projects the Congress leading with 111 to 121 seats, while Dainik Bhaskar predicts the Congress winning 105 to 120 seats.

Source BJP Congress Others 
India Today-Axis My India 140-162 68-90 0-3 
News24-Today’s Chanakya 151 74 
Republic-Matrize 118-130 97-107 0-2 
TV9 Bharatvarsh-Polistrat 106-116 111-121 0-6 
Dainik Bhaskar 95-115 105-120 0-15


The Jan Ki Baat survey forecasts the Zoram People’s Movement leading with 15 to 25 seats and the ruling Mizo National Front securing 10 to 14 seats.

The India TV-CNX exit poll predicts the Mizo National Front winning 14 to 18 seats and the Zoram People’s Movement securing 12 to 16 seats. The Republic-Matrize poll also indicates a clear lead for the Mizo National Front.

According to the ABP News-CVoter poll, the state’s ruling party may win 15 to 21 seats, while the Zoram People’s Movement could secure 12 to 18 seats.

Some of these exit polls also suggest the possibility of a hung Assembly in Mizoram.

Source Mizo National Front Congress Zoram People’s Movement Others 
Jan Ki Baat 10-14 5-9 15-25 0-2 
India TV-CNX 14-18 8-10 12-16 0-2 
Republic-Matrize 17-22 7-10 7-12 01-02 
ABP News-CVoter 15-21 2-8 12-18 0-5

Don't Miss

Related Articles