Monday, May 27, 2024

Fourth phase of Lok Sabha polls begins in 96 constituencies alongside Andhra, Odisha state elections

Polling for Phase 4 of the Lok Sabha elections began at 7 a.m. today. Voting will end at 6 p.m. In this phase, 96 seats in 10 States and Union Territories are going to the polls.

Andhra Pradesh (25), Telangana (17), Uttar Pradesh (13), Maharashtra (11), Madhya Pradesh (8), West Bengal (8), Bihar (5), Odisha (4) and Jammu and Kashmir (1) will also go to polls in this round of voting.

Voters in Andhra Pradesh will also vote to elect their representatives for the 175-member State Assembly. Also, 28 Legislative Assembly seats in Odisha will go to the polls today.

Over 17.7 crore voters are eligible to cast their votes in this round of voting. Over 19 lakh polling officials will man 1.92 lakh polling stations across these States/UTs.

Over 1,717 candidates are contesting in this phase of Lok Sabha elections. Among them are SP’s Akhilesh Yadav (Kannauj), AIMIM’s Asaduddin Owaisi (Hyderabad), Congress’ Adhir Ranjan Chaudhary, TMC’s Mahua Moitra (Krishnanagar), Union Minister and BJP leader Giriraj Singh (Baharampur), Union Minister and ex-CM of Jharkhand Arjun Munda (Khunti), TMC’s Shatrughan Sinha (Asansol) and Congress’ Y.S. Sharmila (Kadapa).

With the end of phase 4, polling for 379 seats, across 23 States and UTs, would be complete. The counting of votes is scheduled for June 4, 2024.

Meanwhile, the Congress, in a written complaint to the Election Commission, said that G Kishan Reddy, Telangana BJP President and Secunderabad BJP candidate mentioned the name of Narendra Modi while addressing the media after voting, which is a violation of the Model Code of Conduct.

In Bengal, Trinamool Congress has sent in more than a 100 complaints over EVM-related issues, and instances of CRPF personnel threatening voters.


Don't Miss

Related Articles