Friday, May 24, 2024

“I have not lost in a single ward.”: Mamata after secures CM post with easy by-poll win

“I am not doing a victory sign with two fingers. I am holding up three fingers. We fought three elections, we have won all three today. I am not so selfish,” Ms Banerjee said. “Ek, dui, teen, Ma Mati Manush kay dhonnobad din (One, two, three – let’s thank the people),” says Mamata Banerjee who won a resounding victory in the bypoll from Kolkata today, which was crucial for her to continue as the Chief Minister following the defeat at Nandigram.

She won with a record margin of 58,832 votes over her BJP rival.

She hailed the results by flashing three fingers to mark the Trinamool’s victory, not just at Bhabanipur but at the Shamsherganj and Jangipur Assembly elections as well.

Bhabanipur seat was vacated for her by state minister Sovandeb Chattopadhyay, who won the April vote by a margin of 28,000-plus votes.

“We are grateful we won… I lost in Nandigram but the matter is in court,” she said. “What is most heart-warming is, I have not lost in a single ward in the constituency. In 2016, I had trailed in a couple of wards. Today, I have won in all,” Trinamool Congress chief added.

BJP candidate Priyanka Tibrewal polled 24,396 votes.

In the other two assembly seats where results came out today, Trinamool candidate Amirul Islam led by over 10,000 votes at Shamsherganj and Jangipur’s Trinamool candidate Jakir Hossain by 52,528 votes.


Don't Miss

Related Articles