In latest setback to BJP, Dharam Singh becomes third UP Minister to quit Yogi’s cabinet

Following two ministers of Yogi Adityanath cabinet, Swami Prasad Maurya and Dara Singh Chauhan, Uttar Pradesh Minister of State (Ayush, Food Security, and Drug Administration) Dharam Singh Saini became the third BJP MLA to quit the party on Thursday.

Citing “gross neglect” towards Dalits, backward classes, farmers, educated unemployed youth, and small traders by the state government as a reason behind his decision, Saini joined Samajwadi party in presence of Akhilesh Yadav.

Saini is the eighth BJP MLA and third UP minister to have resigned over the last three days. Saini, earlier with Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), had joined the BJP in 2016 along with Swami Prasad Maurya. 

Dharam Singh Saini is a four-time MLA from Nakud in Saharanpur and a key OBC (Other Backward Class) leader.

On Monday, Swami Prasad Maurya, also a prominent Other Backward Class leader, had quit the state cabinet. Following Maurya, three other BJP MLAs — BJP MLAs Tindwari’s Brajesh Prajapati, Tilhar’s Roshan Lal Varma and Bilhaur’s Bhagwati Sagar — announced their resignation from the party.

BJP MLA Avtar Singh Bhadana quit the party on Wednesday and is joining the Rashtriya Lok Dal, an SP ally. Another MLA Vinay Kumar Shakya from Bidhuna, too, announced his resignation.