Friday, May 24, 2024

Lok Sabha elections: Third phase of polling begins in 93 constituencies

The third phase of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections began on Tuesday, with 93 parliamentary constituencies in 11 states and four Union territories going to polls.

Five states – Assam, Chhattisgarh, Goa, Gujarat and Karnataka — will wrap up their polling in Phase 3.

In Gujarat, BJP candidate Mukesh Dalal in Surat has already won unopposed after all other nominations were rejected or withdrawn. Rest of the 25 seats in Gujarat will go to the polls, along with 11 seats in Maharashtra, 10 in Uttar Pradesh and four in West Bengal.

Two seats in the UTs of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu, and nine seats in Madhya Pradesh, will also go to the polls today.

Voting is being held in Madhya Pradesh’s Betul seat in this phase as the Election Commission postponed the polls in the constituency, originally scheduled for April 22, following the death of a Bahujan Samaj Party candidate.

Polling in Jammu and Kashmir’s Anantnag-Rajouri constituency, which was supposed to take place on Tuesday, has been rescheduled for the sixth phase on May 25. This came after the Election Commission received representations from the BJP, Jammu and Kashmir Peoples Conference and the Jammu and Kashmir Apni Party.

Among the prominent candidates in the fray in the third phase are Union home minister Amit Shah from Gandhinagar, Union minister Jyotiraditya Scindia from Guna, former Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan from Vidisha, former Karnataka Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai from Haveri, Congress leader Digvijaya Singh from Rajgarh and Samajwadi Party’s Dimple Yadav from Mainpuri in Uttar Pradesh.


Don't Miss

Related Articles