Friday, June 14, 2024

NDA tally at 293 as BJP falls short of majority mark, INDIA tally at 232; NDA, INDIA meet in Delhi today

The BJP-led National Democratic Alliance is poised to secure a third term, winning 293 Lok Sabha seats. With the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) falling short of the magic number that would have given it sole majority in the Lok Sabha, the party will have to rely on its allies to form the next government. The BJP has bagged a total of 240 seats, short of the majority marker of 272, and has called a meeting of the NDA parties in New Delhi today.

The INDIA alliance, bolstered by impressive performances from the Samajwadi Party in UP, the Trinamool Congress in West Bengal, the NCP (Sharad Pawar) and Shiv Sena (UBT) in Maharashtra and DMK in Tamil Nadu, has secured 232 seats. The Congress has increased its tally to 99 seats.

Senior leaders of the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) will meet on Wednesday evening to review the Lok Sabha election results and discuss government formation, PTI reported. Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and Telugu Desam Party president Chandrababu Naidu will attend, along with top leaders of the BJP and its other allies. They are likely to congratulate Prime Minister Narendra Modi on his expected third term and discuss the new government’s structure, possibly with more involvement from the BJP’s allies.

Meanwhile, when media persons asked Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge, “Is INDIA bloc going to form the next government even if, in its current composition, it is some 40 seats short of the majority mark?” he dropped a big hint that has piqued the curiosity of political observers.

Kharge said the future course of action will be decided by the INDIA alliance partners and “new partners who will join.”

“If we disclose everything, Modi ji will get alerted. Tomorrow you will know,” the Congress chief half-jokingly told a reporter who persisted with the question.

Sources say the INDIA alliance leaders are in touch with both Janata Dal (U) chief Nitish Kumar and Telugu Desam Party president Chandrababu Naidu.

Although the BJP has emerged as the largest party, and with its major partners in the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) — TDP and JD(U) — just crossing the majority mark of 272, it may be the first choice to be invited to form the government.

Responding to a separate question, Gandhi underlined that the Congress respects its partners and workers. “We respect our alliance partners. We don’t say anything to the media without consulting them. So we have a meeting tomorrow (5 June) where we will discuss all these things (whether to form a government and if yes, how).”

Following are the number of seats won by parties in all States and Union Territories in the Lok Sabha elections, according to the Election Commission website: 

BJP – 240 

Congress – 99 

Samajwadi Party – 37 

Trinamool Congress – 29

DMK – 22 

Telugu Desam Party – 16 

JD(U) – 12 

Shiv Sena (Uddhav Balasaheb Thackrey) – 9 

NCP (Sharad Pawar) – 8 

Shiv Sena – 7 

Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas) – 5 

YSRCP – 4 

RJD – 4 

CPI(M) – 4 

Indian Union Muslim League – 3 

AAP – 3 

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha – 3 

Janasena Party – 2

CPI (ML) (Liberation) – 2 

JD(S) – 2 

Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi – 2 

CPI – 2 

Rashtriya Lok Dal – 2 

National Conference – 2 

United People’s Party, Liberal – 1 

Asom Gana Parishad – 1

Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular) – 1 

Kerala Congress – 1 

Revolutionary Socialist Party – 1

NCP – 1 

Voice of the People Party – 1 

Zoram People’s Movement – 1 

Shiromani Akali Dal – 1

Rashtriya Loktantrik Party – 1 

Bharat Adivasi Party – 1 

Sikkim Krantikari Morcha – 1 

Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam – 1 

Aazad Samaj Party (Kanshi Ram) – 1 

Apna Dal (Soneylal) – 1

AJSU Party – 1 


Independent – 7


Don't Miss

Related Articles