NPP to head second successive coalition in Meghalaya

The National People’s Party (NPP) led by Chief Minister Conrad K. Sangma is set to head a coalition government for the second successive term in Meghalaya.

The NPP won 26 of the 59 Assembly constituencies where elections were held, seven more than it bagged in 2018. The State Assembly has 60 seats.

The United Democratic Party (UDP) won 11 seats, five more than in 2018.

Sangma had called up Home Minister Amit Shah and sought the BJP’s support, reports say. The BJP won two seats, same as in 2018.

Sangma, however, hinted at having fewer parties in alliance this time. The outgoing alliance government he heads has five parties apart from the NPP. They include the UDP and BJP.

“I thank the people of Meghalaya for having voted for our party. But we are short of the majority mark. We will discuss with like-minded parties and decide how to go forward,” he told reporters after winning the South Tura constituency.

“J.P. Nadda, our national president, has advised the Meghalaya BJP unit to support the NPP in forming the government,” said BJP leader and Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma.