Friday, June 14, 2024

Santosh Trophy: Kerala emerge champions

Kerala clinched the 75th Santosh Trophy with a thrilling victory over West Bengal in a penalty shootout at the Payyanad Stadium in Manjeri, Malappuram.

Kerala scored all five of their penalties to win 5-4 in the shootout.

The match was tied 1-1 in regulation time. Dilip Orawn put Bengal ahead in the 97th minute. In the second half of extra-time, Kerala’s Noufal equalised in the 116th minute to take the final into sudden death.

Kerala has now won the trophy seven times and it was its first win on home soil since 1993.

More to follow…


Don't Miss

Related Articles