Friday, December 8, 2023

Set back to Asaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM as 4 of its 5 MLAs join RJD in Bihar

Must Read

- Advertisement -

In a major set back to Asaduddin Owaisi’s All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) in Bihar, four of its five MLAs on Wednesday joined the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD).

The five MLAs who had won are Akhtarul Iman (Amour constituency), Muhammed Izhar Asfi (Kochadamam), Shahnawaz Alam (Jokihat), Syed Ruknuddin (Baisi) and Azhar Nayeemi (Bahadurgunj). Barring the party’s state chief Akhtarul, the remaining four others joined the RJD which is the principal Opposition party in the Legislative Assembly with 80 MLAs in the 243-member Legislative Assembly.

“Out of the five Bihar AIMIM MLAs, four have joined our party today. We welcome them. Now we are the largest party in the Bihar Legislative Assembly,” RJD leader and Opposition leader Tejashwi Yadav said.

The AIMIM had put up an impressive show in the November 2020 Assembly polls by winning five out of 20 Assembly seats it contested.

AIMIM polled 1.24 per cent (5,23,279) votes and was a constituent of the Grand Democratic Secular Front, which contested all 243 seats.

The AIMIM had fielded 14 candidates in the Seemanchal region which comprises four districts Purnia, Katihar, Kishanganj, and Araria — accounting for 24 seats.

- Advertisement -

Don't Miss

Related Articles