Friday, May 24, 2024

Three MLAs withdraw support to BJP govt in Haryanaa, Congress demands Assembly election under President’s rule

In a major setback for the BJP government in Haryana, three independent MLAs who were backing the Nayab Singh Saini-led BJP government have switched their allegiance to back Congress candidates in the Lok Sabha elections.

The three independent legislators—Randhir Golan from Pundri, Dharmpal Gonder from Nilokheri and Sombir Singh Sangwan from Dadri have said that they will campaign for the Congress candidates in the Lok Sabha elections.

They announced their decision in the presence of former Congress chief minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda in Rohtak. Soon after, Hooda said: “This government should resign keeping in view the sentiments of the public. President’s rule should be imposed in the state.”

The Nayab Singh Saini-led BJP government in Haryana secured a vote of confidence in the assembly in March via voice vote. He will also be contesting the Karnal assembly by-election on 25 May.

Following the resignations of independent MLA Ranjit Chautala and former chief minister Manohar Lal Khattar from the 90-member Haryana assembly earlier, the BJP now has only 40 MLAs out of 88.

Technically, the BJP government has the support of 43 MLAs now. Meanwhile, the saffron party claimed on Tuesday that four Jannayak Janata Party (JJP) MLAs too may offer “tactical assistance to the government if needed”, taking its strength to 47.

The Congress has 30 MLAs in the House. The support of the three Independents takes its tally to 33.

Two months ago, the BJP snapped ties with the JJP of Dushyant Chautala, whose 10 MLAs had helped it form the government in 2019. Of the JJP’s 10 MLAs, at least six have distanced themselves from Chautala.

“The people of Haryana express dissatisfaction with the BJP’s governance, and the Congress stands capable of defeating them,” Dadri MLA Sangwan was quoted as saying.


Don't Miss

Related Articles