UP bypolls: BJP wins Rampur Lok Sabha seat in setback to Samajwadi Party

In a setback for the Samajwadi, BJP candidate Ghanshyam Singh Lodhi won the Rampur Lok Sabha by-elections by defeating SP nominee Asim Raja by a margin of over 42,000 votes.

Lodhi got over 3.67 lakh votes whereas Asim Raja scored around 3.23 lakh votes.

The by-election in the Rampur Lok Sabha seat was necessitated following the resignation of Azam Khan after his election to UP Vidhan Sabha from Rampur Sadar.

Raja is a long-time associate of senior SP leader Azam Khan.