Monday, April 22, 2024

Australia win their first T20 World Cup

For the first time, Australia are T20 World Cup champions.

Australia won the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 as Mitchell Marsh and David Warner hit half-centuries to chase down 173 with ease at the Dubai International Stadium.

Marsh and Warner’s brilliant knocks came after New Zealand captain Kane Williamson had responded to losing the toss with a classy innings of his own, with his 85 off 45 helping the Black Caps to 172/4.

However, Australia started the chase well and rarely took their foot off the gas as they raced to the World Cup title with eight wickets and seven balls to spare.

Australia had lost skipper Aaron Finch early when he top-edged Trent Boult to Daryl Mitchell in the deep. But the in-form David Warner got off to a decent start, while it was Marsh who upped the rate most spectacularly early on, smashing 14 runs off the first three deliveries he faced.

And the pair went through the gears as the spinners came on, adding 39 runs in the following four overs to leave them needing 91 from 60 to win the T20 World Cup at the halfway stage of the reply.


Don't Miss

Related Articles