Friday, June 14, 2024

T20 World Cup 2024: DRS controversy denies Bangladesh win over South Africa, exposing ICC rule flaw

The T20 World Cup 2024 match between South Africa and Bangladesh turned into a nail-biter, with the Proteas clinching a narrow 4-run victory on Monday. Bangladesh appeared poised for a win, needing 27 runs from the last 4 overs. However, a controversial DRS decision played a crucial role, ultimately denying Bangladesh a boundary that might have changed the outcome.

The controversy unfolded in the 17th over of Bangladesh’s innings, with Mahmudullah and Towid Hridoy at the crease. Mahmudullah attempted a flick on the second ball, but the ball struck his pads and raced to the boundary behind the stumps. The South African team appealed, and the umpire raised his finger, declaring Mahmudullah out. Bangladesh immediately reviewed the decision, and the DRS showed that the ball would have missed the stumps, leading the umpire to reverse his decision.

Despite the reversal, the boundary was not added to Bangladesh’s total, as the ball was considered dead when the umpire signaled out. According to current ICC rules, a dead ball cannot be overturned, even if the initial decision was incorrect.

The incident sparked outrage on social media, with many users, including former India cricketer Wasim Jaffer, criticizing the rule. 

“Mahmudullah was wrongly given out LBW, the ball went for four leg byes. The decision was reversed on DRS. Bangladesh didn’t get the 4 runs as the ball was dead once the batter gave out, even if wrongly. And SA ended up winning the game by 4 runs. Feel for Bangladesh fans,” Jaffer wrote on X.

What does the ICC rule say?

According to the ICC rulebook:

3.7.1 If following a Player Review request, an original decision of Out is changed to Not Out, the ball is still deemed dead from the moment the original decision was made (as per clause 20.1.1.3). The batting side, while benefiting from the reversal of the dismissal, does not gain any runs that may have accrued from the delivery had the on-field umpire originally made a Not Out decision, except for any No Ball penalty under paragraph 3.3.5 above.

3.7.2 If an original decision of Not out is changed to Out, the ball shall retrospectively be deemed dead from the moment of the dismissal event. All subsequent events, including any runs scored, are ignored.

Law 20.1.1.3 of the Dead Ball law states: “A batter is dismissed. The ball will be deemed to be dead from the instant of the incident causing the dismissal.”

This rule has now come under scrutiny, with calls for the ICC to review and possibly amend it to prevent similar controversies in the future.

spot_img

Don't Miss

Related Articles