UAE temporarily stops new visas to citizens of 13 mostly Muslim countries

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) has stopped issuing new visas to citizens of 13 mostly Muslim-majority countries, including Iran, Turkey, Pakistan Syria, and Somalia.

According to an Al Jazeera report, the list also includes Afghanistan, Libya, Yemen, Algeria, Kenya, Iraq, Lebanon, and Tunisia.

UAE document issued by a state-owned business park said applications for new employment and visit visas were suspended until further notice for nationals outside the UAE from above mentioned 13 countries.

The document, which was sent to companies operating in the park cited an immigration circular that came into effect on November 18, said a Reuters news.

Al Jazeera said UAE’s Federal Authority for Identity and Citizenship had no immediate comment.

The UAE source briefed on the matter said the UAE had temporarily stopped issuing new visas to these countries over security concerns and did not say what those concerns were but said the visa ban was expected to last for a short period.