Thursday, February 22, 2024

10 tribal MLAs of Manipur demand separate state

10 tribal members of Manipur’s legislative assembly have signed asking for a separate administration under the constitution of India.

The MLAs from across parties, including from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), issued a statement on Friday to seek a constitutional solution to the demand.

The 10 MLAs who issued the statement are Haokholet Kipgen (IND), Ngursanglur Sanate (JD-U), Kimneo Haokip Hangshing (KPA), Letpao Haokip (BJP), Lallian Mang Khaute (JDU), Letzamang Haokip (BJP), Chinlunthang (KPA), Paolienlal Haokip (BJP), Nemcha Kipgen (BJP), Vungzagin Valte (BJP).

“The unabated violence that began on 3rd May, 2023 in Manipur perpetrated by majority meiteis tacitly supported by existing Government of Manipur against the Chin-Kuki-Mizo-Zomi hill tribals has already partitioned the state and effected a total separation from the State of Manipur,” read the statement.

The lawmakers said that the tribals can no longer live in Manipur and seek a “separate administration under the Constitution of India”.

The statement read, “As elected representatives of our people, we today represent the sentiments of our people and endorse their political aspiration of separation from the State of Manipur…We seek of the Union of India a separate administration under the Constitution of India and live peacefully as neighbours with the State of Manipur.”

In recent days, the northeastern state witnessed widespread ethnic violence between the state’s Meitei and tribal communities. At least 60 people died in the violence.


Don't Miss

Related Articles