Wednesday, May 29, 2024

Cricketer Yusuf Pathan is TMC candidate from Berhampore Lok Sabha seat

Cricketer Yusuf Pathan will contest elections from Berhampore Lok Sabha constituency as Trinamool Congress (TMC) candidate, according to the candidate list released by Mamata Banerjee’s party for all 42 Lok Sabha seats of West Bengal.

Yusuf Pathan joined the TMC on 10 March.

The former Indian all-rounder will be contesting possibly against West Bengal Congress president and senior Congress politician Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury.

Berhampore in Murshidabad is considered a bastion of Chowdhury who has won five times from the seat.

Pathan who retired from all forms of cricket in February 2021, was a member of the Indian team that won both the 2007 T20 World Cup and the 2011 Cricket World Cup.


Don't Miss

Related Articles