Thursday, April 18, 2024

AAP ends BJP’s 15-year reign over MCD

Aam Aadmi Party has won the prestige battle for the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD), unseating an entrenched Bharatiya Janata Party.

The AAP has won the 126 seats required for majority in the House of 250; and is leading on 10 more, taking its number possibly to 136.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has gotten hold of 97 seats so far. Congress has won seven seats and leading on three more.

The AAP office saw grand celebrations with the dhol and kids dressed as Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal. Aam Aadmi Party’s (AAP) top leadership, including Manish Sisodia, Bhagwant Mann and Raghav Chadha, reached Arvind Kejriwal’s residence as the party raced ahead in the MCD election results.

“We thank the people of the city for trusting us with MCD. The people of the national capital have helped defeat the most corrupt and most negative party of the world for a glorious win to Arvind Kejriwal,” Sisodia wrote in a tweet in Hindi. “For us, it’s not just a huge win, it’s a huge responsibility too.”

Aam Aadmi Party leader and Punjab Chief Minister Bhagwant Mann says Arvind Kejriwal first uprooted the 15-year-long rule of the Congress in New Delhi and now he has done the same to the BJP in MCD, reports ANI.

“It shows people of Delhi don’t like politics of hatred, they vote for schools, hospitals, electricity, cleanliness and infrastructure,” Mann says.

This was the first election after the MCD was reunified earlier this year.

The polls, which took place on December 4, saw a voter turnout of only 50.48% — just over 73 lakh people from the total of 1.45 crore eligible voters.


Don't Miss

Related Articles