Wednesday, April 24, 2024

Bengal polls: Mamata Banerjee will fight from Nandigram

Trinamool Congress supremo and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee announced the names of candidates for 291 constituencies ahead of the upcoming assembly polls in the state.

The party has dropped several sitting MLAs and ministers from the list.

“On 3 seats of north Bengal, we not putting up our candidates,” Banerjee told reporters.

The ruling TMC has fielded 50 women, 42 Muslim candidates, 79 scheduled caste candidates (SC), and 17 Scheduled Tribe (ST) candidates.

“I thank Tejashwi Yadav, Arvind Kejriwal, Hemant Soren and Shiv Sena for extending their support to me,” She added.

Interestingly, there are no candidates above 80 will contest from the Trinamool Congress.

“23-24 existing TMC MLAs have been dropped due to age and other reasons,” party supremo said.

“Will fight from Nandigram”

“Will fight from Nandigram, will vacate Bhowanipore,” Banerjee said.

She also said that party colleague Sovandeb Chattopadhyay would contest from Bhowanipore.

“I am going to Nandigram on 9th March. On 10th March, I will file the nomination at Haldia,” CM said.

Nandigram is the stronghold of Suvendu Adhikari, one of the BJP’s biggest acquisitions from the Trinamool Congress.

West Bengal Assembly polls will be held in eight phases starting from 27 March with the final round of voting taking place on 29 April. Results will be declared on 2 May.


Don't Miss

Related Articles