“BJP attacked Ambedkar’s Constitution,” says 7th MLA who quit BJP in UP

Mukesh Verma

Bharatiya Janata Party MLA from the Shikohabad constituency in Firozabad Mukesh Verma has resigned from the party. He is the seventh MLA to have resigned over the last three days.

Mukesh Verma accused the saffron party-led government of neglecting the Dalits, other backward classes, minority communities, farmers and the unemployed people in Uttar Pradesh.

“During the tenure of 5 years by the BJP government, no attention was given to the leaders and public representatives of the Dalit, backward and minority communities, and these communities were neglected. Hence, I resign from the primary membership of the Bharatiya Janata Party,” in a tweet in Hindi, he alleged.

“The Bharatiya Janata Party has attacked the provisions of the Babasaheb Ambedkar’s Constitution. BJP cares only about its own interest,” Verma said.

Verma who called Swami Prasad Maurya as “our leader,” further said he will support whatever decision Maurya takes.

“Many other leaders will join us in the coming days,” Verma said.

On Monday, Swami Prasad Maurya, also a prominent Other Backward Class leader, had quit the state cabinet. Following Maurya, three other BJP MLAs — BJP MLAs Tindwari’s Brajesh Prajapati, Tilhar’s Roshan Lal Varma and Bilhaur’s Bhagwati Sagar — announced their resignation from the party.

BJP MLA Avtar Singh Bhadana quit the party on Wednesday and is joining the Rashtriya Lok Dal, an SP ally. Another MLA Vinay Kumar Shakya from Bidhuna, too, announced his resignation.