Saturday, June 22, 2024

BJP wins Dhanpur, Boxanagar seats in Tripura assembly bypolls

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won by-elections to the Dhanpur and Boxanagar assembly constituencies in Tripura’s Sepahijala district, the Election Commission of India declared on Friday.

BJP’s Tafajjal Hossain won the Boxanagar seat, which has around 66 per cent minority voters, by 30,237 votes.

Hossain got 34,146 votes, while his nearest rival Mizan Hossain of the CPI(M) got 3,909 votes, PTI news agency reported.

Meanwhile, BJP candidate Bindu Debnath bagged the Dhanpur seat, which has a significant tribal population, by 18,871 votes.

Debnath got 30,017 votes, and his nearest rival Kaushik Chanda of the CPI(M) got 11,146 votes.

The by-election to the Boxanagar constituency was necessitated by the death of CPI(M) MLA Samsul Haque. Union Minister Pratima Bhoumik’s resignation as the MLA of Dhanpur necessitated the by-election in that seat.


Don't Miss

Related Articles