Mamata to take oath as CM on May 5

Trinamool Congress supremo Mamata Banerjee is likely to be sworn in as the Chief Minister of the West Bengal for the third time on 5 May.

Banerjee visited Raj Bhawan on Monday evening at tendered her resignation to Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar.

 “The newly-elected (legislative) members will take oath in the Assembly from May 6,” TMC secretary-general Partha Chatterjee told reporters at the party headquarters after the meeting of the legislators.

According to the final results announced by the Election Commission, the TMC won 213 of the 292 assembly seats and secured a third straight term in office. BJP, bagged 77 seats, while the ISF, which contested with the symbol of the Rashtriya Secular Majlis Party, and an Independent, managed one seat each.

Banerjee was elected to the office for the first time in 2011 ending the 34 year Left Front rule in the State. She was again elected in 2016.


Don't Miss

Related Articles