Sunday, March 3, 2024

Mizoram: Zoram People’s Movement to form govt with 27 seats

The Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) swept off Mizoram with 27 seats out of the total 40 assembly seats – dethroning the Mizo National Front (MNF) who got 10 seats.

The BJP came a distant third with two seats, while Congress managed to get one seat in the state.

Outgoing Mizoram chief minister Zoramthanga conceded his defeat on Monday saying, “Because of the anti-incumbency effect and the people are not satisfied with my performance so I lost… I accept the verdict of the people and I hope that the next government will perform well… It (the reason) is the anti-incumbency and Covid onslaught.”

Police officer turned politician and ZPM chief Lalduhoma, 74, is set to become the next chief minister.

The exit poll results had indicated a neck-and-neck fight between the ruling MNF and former IPS officer Lalduhoma’s ZPM.

MNF, ZPM and Congress contested in all 40 assembly seats, while BJP contested in only 23 seats in the state.

Polling for the Mizoram assembly was held on November 7 with a voter turnout of 80.43 percent.


Don't Miss

Related Articles