Wednesday, May 29, 2024

Voting in 102 seats across 21 states today As India’s General Elections begins

The seven-phase Lok Sabha polls kicked off today, with as many as 102 parliamentary constituencies across 21 states and Union territories set to vote in the first phase. Polling began at 7 am and will continue through the day till around 6 pm.

The counting of votes and result declaration for the Lok Sabha election will take place on June 4.

The first phase of polls is being held on all seats of Tamil Nadu (39), Rajasthan (12), Uttar Pradesh (8), Madhya Pradesh (6), Uttarakhand (5), Arunachal Pradesh (2), Meghalaya (2), Andaman and Nicobar Islands (1), Mizoram (1), Nagaland (1), Puducherry (1), Sikkim (1) and Lakshadweep (1). Besides, there will be five seats each in Assam and Maharashtra, four in Bihar, three in West Bengal, two in Manipur, and one each in Tripura, Jammu and Kashmir, and Chhattisgarh.

Voting is also underway for the 92 Assembly seats in Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led NDA alliance is eyeing its third consecutive term this General Elections. Modi urged people to exercise their franchise in record numbers and particularly called upon young and first-time voters to cast their ballot in large numbers.

The constituents of the opposition INDIA bloc are hoping for a rebound after facing reverses in the 2014 and 2019 elections.

Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge urged people to carefully cast their votes and said that a “new era of economic empowerment and equal opportunities” beckons them. “The fight to protect our Constitution and Democracy begins today,” he said.


Don't Miss

Related Articles