Congress releases list of 86 candidates for Kerala polls

The Congress on Sunday released its first list of 86 candidates for the upcoming Kerala assembly elections. Former chief minister Oommen Chandy will contest from Puthuppally, while Leader of Opposition in Kerala Assembly Ramesh Chennithala has been fielded from Haripad Assembly constituency.

Sitting MP from Vadakara K Muraleedharan, who is the son of veteran Congress leader K Karunakaran, will contest in Nemom, the only seat in the state currently represented by the BJP.

Party’s students’ wing KSU state president KM Abhijeet will contest from Kozhikode while Youth Congress president Shafi Parambil will contest from Palakkad.

Meanwhile, Kerala Mahila Congress chief and senior Congress politician Lathika Subhash gets her head tonsured in front of the party office in Thiruvananthapuram in protest after being denied the party ticket for Assembly elections.

“I am not joining any party but I’ll resign from my post,” she said.

Kerala assembly poll will be held on April 6 and counting of votes will be on 2 May.