Wednesday, April 17, 2024

Former HC judge, actor Kangana Ranaut, industrialist Naveen Jindal on BJP’s fifth list of candidates

The Bharatiya Janata Party on Sunday released its fifth list of 111 candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

Industrialist and former Congress MP Naveen Jindal was named as the candidate from Haryana’s Kurukshetra hours after he joined the BJP. He had announced his resignation from the Congress on social media earlier in the day.

Former Justice Abhijit Gangopadhyay, who joined the Hindutva camp earlier this month after resigning as a Calcutta High Court judge, has been given a ticket from the Tamluk constituency.

The saffron party has fielded actor Kangana Ranaut, who is controversial for hate speeches on social media, from the Mandi constituency in Himachal Pradesh while actor Arun Govil, who is known for his role as the deity Ram in the television serial Ramayan, has been fielded from Meerut.

Haryana minister and independent MLA Ranjit Singh Chautala and former Congress MP Velagapalli Varaprasad Rao, both of whom had also joined the BJP on Sunday, have been given tickets from Hisar and Tirupati, respectively.

BJP MP Maneka Gandhi will contest from Uttar Pradesh’s Sultanpur and Union Education Minister Dharmendra Pradhan has been fielded from Odisha’s Sambalpur.

Former Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad has been retained as the candidate from Patna Sahib in Bihar.

In Kerala, BJP’s state unit chief K Surendran has been fielded against Congress former chief Rahul Gandhi in Wayanad.


Don't Miss

Related Articles