Sunday, March 3, 2024

Bihar: Leaders urge to vote for change, development on last polling day

A voter in Darbhanga constituency. Photo: Sahid Faris/Maktoob

Polling in 78 assembly constituencies for the third and final phase in Bihar assembly elections is now underway.

Ahead of voting, RJD leader and Grand Alliance’s chief ministerial candidate Tejashwi Yadav tweeted: “In Bihar, Ganga, Gandak and Kosi of change are flowing. The waves are on the rise. Make sure you vote for a golden future, all-round development, progressive Bihar, peace today. Cast your vote and be a companion of change.”

“Seventy-eight seats are in the fray on the last phase of the Bihar Assembly elections. I appeal to the people in these constituencies to cast their vote keeping in mind their responsibilities. Please vote. Your one vote can help maintain the development work here and turn the state into a developed one,” Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar tweeted.

Congress former president Rahul Gandhi said: “I urge all voters to participate in large numbers to strengthen the democracy.”

“On the final day of polling, I appeal to everyone to use their voting rights and come out in large numbers to vote. I especially urge the youths to do so for the welfare of the state, and ensure the others do the same,” Union Home Minister Amit Shah tweeted.

2.35 crore voters are eligible to decide the fate of 1,204 candidates today.

Candidates fielded by NDA, Grand Alliance, other parties in third face:

JD(U) – 37
BJP – 35
Vikassheel Insaan Party – 5
Hindustani Awami Morcha – 1

RJD – 46
Congress – 25
CPI(ML) – 5

LJP – 42

AIMIM – 14

Seemanchal, Kosi, Mithila and Tirhut regions comprise the 78 seats going for polls in the final round.

The RJD-led Grand Alliance has a clear advantage in the Seemanchal (Kishanganj, Araria, Katihar and Purnia) and Kosi (Supaul, Saharsa and Madhepura) regions while the NDA is facing a toughest contest in all these regions and has an advantage in Mithila (Darbhanga and Madhuvani), and Tirhut (Muzaffarpur and Sitamarhi) regions of the state.

In Seemanchal region, Bihar’s most backward and Muslim dominated area, Asaduddin Owasi’s AIMIM is a key player and it is contesting 16 of its 20 seats in this phase.

The poll bound Bihar saw a considerable voter turnout with first Phase recording 54% votes and second phase recording 55.7% votes.


Don't Miss

Related Articles