Wednesday, April 24, 2024

Bypolls in seven seats in six states: Voting underway

Voting for seven Assembly seats in six states began at 7 am on Thursday.

The seats that are going to polls are Adampur in Haryana; Andheri East (Maharashtra); Gopalganj and Mokama in Bihar; Munugode in Telangana; Gola Gokarannath in Uttar Pradesh; and Dhamnagar in Odisha.

Among the seven seats where the bye-polls are underway, the Bharatiya Janata Party previously held three seats, the Congress two and the Shiv Sena and the Rashtriya Janata Dal one each. Many of the poll battles will be about a fierce contest between the BJP and regional parties such as the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), the Samajwadi Party (SP), and the Biju Janata Dal (BJD).

The votes will be counted on November 6.

Telangana has been primed for a high-stakes battle between the BJP and ruling TRS following allegations by the TRS of attempts to poach its MLAs with eye-popping amounts of cash.

Bihar will see the first electoral test for Nitish Kumar’s latest Grand Alliance formed less than three months ago.


Don't Miss

Related Articles