Wednesday, May 29, 2024

Congress names its Delhi picks; Kanhaiya Kumar, two former MPs

The Congress on Sunday named its Lok Sabha candidates for the three Delhi seats it is contesting as part of the alliance with the Aam Aadmi Party.

The grand old party pitched Udit Raj from North West Delhi, Kanhaiya Kumar from North East Delhi and JP Agarwal from Chandni Chowk.

37-year-old former student leader Kanhaiya, who is in-charge of the Congress students’ body, the National Students Union of India (NSUI), is pitted against the BJP’s sitting MP Manoj Tiwari in a constituency with a substantial number of voters from Bihar and UP.

Former JNU Students’ Union president Kumar, who joined the Congress in September 2021 from the Communist Party of India (CPI), contested the last Lok Sabha elections from Bihar’s Begusarai, where he lost to Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) Giriraj Singh. This time, the Congress failed to get Begusarai from its INDIA allies.

For the Chandni Chowk seat, the party named former parliamentarian and senior Congress leader Agarwal, who will take on BJP’s Praveen Khandelwal.

In the third constituency in its share, the party named senior politician Udit Raj, who was once with the BJP, as the North West Delhi candidate, where the BJP has pitched Yogendra Chandolia.

Raj is a former Indian Revenue Service who quit the bureaucracy after a career spanning around 15 years to form his own political outfit, the Indian Justice Party.


Don't Miss

Related Articles