Friday, December 8, 2023

RJD issues list of 119 seats in twist to Bihar vote count, alleges counting norms flouted

Must Read

- Advertisement -

Locked in a close contest with the ruling National Democratic Alliance, Rashtriya Janata Dal accused Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and his deputy Sushil Kumar Modi of exerting pressure on the District Magistrates to keep RJD’s count between 105-110.

In official tweet, RJD said it will not allow the “public mandate to get looted”.

Sharing a purported list of winning candidates from as many as 119 seats, the Tejashwi Yadav led party claimed returning officers had already congratulated its candidates on their win, but is now refusing to issue certificates claiming that they have lost.

“This is the list of 119 seats where counting has been completed and candidates of the grand alliance have won them. The Returning Officers initially congratulated the candidates but later told them that they have lost the election,” the RJD said in a post on its Twitter account in Hindi late on Tuesday.

There has been no formal response from the Election Commission to the RJD’s allegation.

- Advertisement -

Don't Miss

Related Articles